Black Sabbath: Live At Hammersmith Odeon (May 01)

Together for a short but memorable time -- a trio of studio albums, a classic live album, and a couple of tours -- the second coming of Black Sabbath began in 1979 when founding members Tony Iommi and Terry "Geezer" Butler were joined by Ronnie James Dio. The former singer of Elf (and later Rainbow and Dio) added his fiery, demonic howl to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame group's crushing mix of iconic riffs, gloomy grooves and doom-soaked imagery.

In late 2006 Dio, Iommi and Butler, joined by drummer Vinny Appice, reunited to record three new songs for Rhino Records' era-spanning collection, BLACK SABBATH: THE DIO YEARS. These recording sessions went so well that the quartet -- billed as Heaven And Hell -- will launch a highly anticipated world tour this spring. The group will play a dozen dates in Canada in March before taking the stage of the famed Radio City Music Hall in New York City on March 30 to play their only U.S. date until the band launches a full tour of the States later this year.

"Black Sabbath: The Dio Years" details here

The first comprehensive introduction to the band's legacy, BLACK SABBATH: THE DIO YEARS features a dozen classic studio recordings, plus one live track-"Children Of The Sea" from 1982's Live Evil. The collection also contains the three brand-new tracks-"The Devil Cried," "Shadow Of The Wind," and "Ear In The Wall."

Arranged chronologically, the compilation spotlights Dio's time with Black Sabbath and draws heavily from the lineup's 1980 debut and 1981 follow-up, Heaven And Hell and Mob Rules respectively. Recognized as back-to-back metal classics, the albums feature such signature songs as the title tracks, "Neon Knights," "Die Young," "Turn Up The Night" and "Voodoo." THE DIO YEARS also features "After All (The Dead)," "TV Crimes" and "I" from the singer's brief reunion with Sabbath for the Dehumanizer album and tour.

Due on May 1 via Rhino Handmade, the collection features Ronnie James Dio, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Vinny Appice getting hot one December night in London during SABBATH's 1981 tour for "Mob Rules". Previously unreleased, the concert spotlights SABBATH as they storm through 14 of the Dio-era's best including "Neon Knights", "Heaven And Hell", "Children Of The Sea" and "Country Girl". The band also performs several pre-Dio classics, including "Paranoid", "Children Of The Grave" and a white-hot version of "War Pigs". The album will be available from Rhino Handmade as an individually numbered limited edition of 5,000 copies, available only at www.rhinohandmade.com for a suggested retail price of $19.98.

This will be a limited release print of 5,000 copies sold through the Rhino Handmade website here. They do not appear to be taking pre-orders for this one yet, but if you look around the rest of their site at other items they sell, you can probably get an idea as to how this will run, too.

I've inquired, and have been told that when the 5,000 are sold, that's it. There is not a second run planned, there is not a "print of regular CD's" waiting - the 5k are it. Personally, if everyone on my mailing list buys one, that will take 4/5 of the total volume available anyway. I think a print run of 5,000 is too small, and it will result in a lot of fans getting mad they couldn't get it, and then having to pay too much when they show up on eBay later on. It will probably also lead to rampant piracy of the material, too. Never liked these kinds of decisions before. Oh well, not my choice.

TRACKLISTING of "Black Sabbath: Live At Hammersmith "

Track Song Sample
1 E5150  
2 Neon Knights  
3 N.I.B.  
4 Children Of The Sea  
5 Country Girl  
6 Black Sabbath  
7 War Pigs  
8 Slipping Away  
9 Iron Man  
10 The Mob Rules  
11 Heaven And Hell  
12 Paranoid  
13 Voodoo  
14 Children Of The Grave  

All selections previously unissued.

(Thanks: Rhinohandmade)

Copyright© 2006-2007. ILoveBallad.com. All rights reserved.